Prem Bhatia Memorial Lectures

On August 11, each year, in addition to felicication of award winners, the Trust hosts a lecture by an eminent personality on a topical subject.

The nineteen lectures to date have included distinguished speakers such as Dr Karan Singh, Dr M S Swaminathan, the late Prof A M Khusro, Justice Venkatachalliah, Mr Soli Sorabji, Prof Deepak Nayyar, Prof Dipankar Gupta, the late Mr Lakshman Kadirgamar, Prof Zoya Hasan, Mr Ashok H Desai, Mr K S Bajpai, Prof Gowher Rizvi, Prof Ashok Mitra, Ms Ayesha Siddiqa, Mr Chandrashekar Das Gupta, Mr Shiv Shankar Menon, Dr Y V Reddy, Mr Shyam Saran, Mr T N Ninan and Mr Pratap Bhanu Mehta, all of whom have enlightened the audience on various political, economic and social events in the country.

Indian Economy : Present State, Future Prospects

Prof. A. M. Khusro
Chairman, 11th Planning Commission
August 11, 1998

Delivering the third Prem Bhatia Memorial Lecture, Prof. Khusro held that the Government should not worry about the fiscal deficit but increase its expenditure on infrastructure projects in power, telecom, roads, railways and housing by…

Read More >

On faith of the Journalist

Mr. Justice M. N. Venkatachaliah
Former Chief Justice of India and Chairperson National Human Rights Commission
August 11, 1997

The great institution of the ‘Press’ which has been and still is the largest single influence on the civil and political society does not seem to inspire the same respect for its legitimacy as it…

Read More >

The State of the Nation

Dr. Karan Singh
Politician, Diplomat and Scholar
August 11, 1996

Dr. Karan Singh, politician, diplomat and scholar of great standing, delivering the First Prem Bhatia Memorial Lecture on “The State of the Nation”, at India International Centre in 1996 said August 15, 1947 is a…

Read More >