To propagate the values that Prem Bhatia stood for –  objective reporting, fearless pursuit of the truth and a commitment to improvement in the standards of journalism in this country, Prem Bhatia Memorial Trust announces two Awards annually.
These Awards are decided by independent juries specially constituted for this purpose.


Outstanding Political Reporting of The Year

An annual award of  INR 2,00,000/- is given to an outstanding journalist
who has reported the major political events of the year with  objectivity.

View previous Awardees


Outstanding Environmental Reporting of The Year

An annual award of INR.1,50,000/- is awarded for the journalist
who has shown most promise in reporting on environmental, developmental or social affairs.

View Previous Awardees


The work of the awardees encompasses a wide range of topics, from the nuclear implosion in the Rajasthan desert to the post-Godhra reporting in Gujarat, farmers’ deaths in Andhra Pradesh, the Bihar flood relief scam and so on.

Previous awardees include Raj Chengappa (1999), Kingshuk Nag and Bharat Desai (2002), Mr. Praveen Swamy (2003), Mr. Palagummi Sainath (2004), Mr. Varghese K. George (2005), Ms. Navika Kumar (2006), Ms. Pallavi Aiyar (2007) Ms. Nirupama Subramanian (2008), Ms. Neerja Chowdhury (2009), Ms. Ritu Sareen (2010), Mr Josy Joseph and Mr Jyotirmoy Dey (2011), P. R. Ramesh and Ms. Shalini Singh(2012), Mr. Jaideep Hardikar and Ms. Shalini Singh(2013), Mr. Nitin Sethi, Ms. Smita Gupta(2014), Ms. Suhasini Haider and Priyanka Kakodkar(2015).